This site is a Twilight-free zone

Boy, was I in a ranting mood last night?

Anyway, I’ll start reviewing films on here shortly, but in advance here’s a bit more info about what I like and dislike when it comes to horror and films in general. The title of the post should give you a good starting point. I’m not going to slag T******t off as I haven’t read / seen any of them so that would be wrong, but I’ll go happily to my grave if that situation never changes. Though hopefully not for a few years yet.

Favourites? That’s a list that would have to include *deep breath* Suspiria, Evil Dead, Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead (possibly my favourite of the series, which may be partly down to it being the first one I saw. At 11 years of age), The Beyond, Let The Right One In, An American Werewolf In London, Salem’s Lot (Hooper-directed version), Haute Tension, Hatchet, Alligator, Bad Taste, The Thing (Best. Effects. Ever. Bollocks to CGI), and many, many more that I have forgotten right now but will come back to haunt me (in a good way) later.

Re-makes? Meh. Not always a complete travesty, Dawn of the Dead was well done, TCM also, but I gather someone’s doing Suspiria now, and that makes me sad as there is no way that film can be improved so don’t waste your and my time. Most of them are uninspired and lazy crap though, but you all know that already. Right?

My favourite non-horror films are True Romance and Robocop, both actually probably my favourite films full stop. I’m not happy about a Robocop remake, but Aronofsky directing it makes me a little intrigued. However, part of me wants to beat myself with sticks for even entertaining the thought.

I’m also a Pixar lover (like most sane people) and have much time for the likes of Anchorman (genius), Borat etc. so it’s not all about violence and slow burning agony with me, I have a light and childish side too.

Having said that, I am a sucker for OTT gore and splatter, but at the end of the day nothing beats locking the doors, switching the lights off and scaring myself with something truly affecting. Not enough films can do this in my opinion, but The Shining and Evil Dead get me every time.

I hate CGI blood. That deserves a paragraph in its own right.

Anyway, that’ll do for now, just a little insight – not because I think I’m super-important and everyone should listen to me (I don’t, by the way) but because personally I like to know someone’s tastes in advance of reading reviews etc. that they may write in the future. And because I’m a little bored and am having fun with my new blog. There, said it.

Leave a Reply

