I’ve done Christmas, time for New Year’s Eve

Hello faithful readers,

Well, you stuck with me through my thoughts on Christmas, so here’s my opinion on New Year’s Eve.

WARNING: If you’re in your late teens / early twenties and tomorrow night is going to be the most exciting night of your year, you may want to leave at this point. I am, in your eyes, old and jaded, and will shatter all your dreams of how it will be the best night out you have ever had.

Right, now we’ve got that out of the way:

New Year’s Eve parties can go from the bad:

Nothing says Party like hairy moobs

To the very, very good:

'nuff said

…but these days, I prefer to be somewhere where I can

a) Hear myself speak

b) Not be surrounded by cunts

c) Sit down from time to time

Three years ago I stayed in and, at the stroke of midnight was watching American Psycho on DVD. I was perfectly happy with this. Last year I was at a “gathering” (no-one calls them parties anymore, unless you want 350 Facebook chavs to turn up and smash the fuck out of your house) and pleasantly off my tits all night. See? I’m a man of contrast if nothing else πŸ˜‰

I just don’t want to spend Β£25 to go to my local pub for a glass of sparking wine, a sausage roll, and a fight. That to me is hell on earth. Shit, I hope there aren’t any Cenobites reading this, as they would now know how to torment me for all eternity.

Tomorrow, I shall go on a 12 hour vodka binge with three of my closest friends at their house. We will laugh, we will cry, we will play shitty board games – and I will love every minute of it…and when the text service collapses at around 11:30pm as it does every year, I will switch my phone off and sit happily with a stupid grin on my face, thinking of my loved ones πŸ™‚

So, in summary – if you’re going out to a pub, club or party, have a fantastic time. I used to do it, and am not taking away from your experience at all – it’s just not for me anymore, and I’m good with that.

If you’re staying at home, be it alone or with people who you like or love, then fair play to you and I also hope you enjoy your night, whether it ends at 10:00pm or 7:00am.

2009 has been a mixed year for me, improving immensely in the last two months, and I for one genuinely look forward to 2010. Whether you’ve had a shit year or a blinder, I hope 2010 is good for you too πŸ™‚

For the final word, let’s turn to some inspiring 80’s horror:

So have fun, and remember – it’s just another night πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “I’ve done Christmas, time for New Year’s Eve”

  1. Bloofer Lady Says:

    I gave you an award over at my site.:-)

  2. davidmcguigan Says:

    Thanks! You rule!

Leave a Reply

